2013 - the best of the pre-Challenge Tasks

LGMA - local government management australia
Latest Events
Contact Us
Contact LGMA
You are Here : Home » Management Challenge » 2013 - the best of the pre-Challenge Tasks

Management Challenge

2013 - the best of the pre-Challenge Tasks


2013 LGMA Management Challenge teams were asked to respond to the following question as part of the pre-Challenge task;

How can your council develop connections, networks and leaders who will work together towards a shared vision and joint action for the local area?

For any government organisation, it's an interesting time to be working in the area of community engagement. But for local government working closest to the community, the many new opportunities offered by developments in digital technology are profound. Councils around Australia and New Zealand are responding in many different - and innovative - ways. Here, you will find rich, in-depth responses from dozens of organisations on how they are approaching this challenge. The following were the highest ranked pre-Challenge tasks in each state and New Zealand.

Disclaimer: The following content was submitted as part of the pre-Challenge task in the 2013 LGMA Australasian Management Challenge. These are not formal organisational policies or programs. While participants in the Challenge represented the relevant organisations, all content is hypothetical and created in the context of a professional development program.

Western Australia

City of Wanneroo, WA

City of Kalgoolie-Boulder, WA

City of Kwinana, WA

New Zealand

Hastings District Council, NZ

Western Bay of Plenty, NZ (winners of the 2013 LGMA Management Challenge)

Northern Territory

City of Darwin, NT

City of Palmerston, NT

Alice Springs Town Council, NT

East Arnhem Shire Council, NT


Townsville City Council Team A, QLD

Toowoomba Regional Council, QLD

Brisbane City Council, QLD

Southern Downs Regional Council, QLD

South Australia

Adelaide City Council, SA

City of Onkaparinga, SA

City of Salisbury, SA

City of Marion, SA

New South Wales

Wagga Wagga City Council, NSW

Mosman Council, NSW

North Sydney Council, NSW


City of Boroondara, VIC

City of Greater Geelong, VIC

Baw Baw Shire Council, VIC

Warrnambool City Council, VIC